Interested yet?

Posted: 08/08/2011 in Ramblings

This blog is mostly my views on my surroundings. What enters my sphere of influence. It will mostly be about horror films, films in general, comics, gaming, things that happen in my life and the occasional response to a world event.

I hope to entertain, but mostly I am just aiming to get it out of my head. Sometimes I feel as though I am one of the few sane people left. It feels a bit hopeless when I read great articles online and then look at the idiocy in the comments section. It feels a bit hopeless. Hence the title.

That may come off as a bit pretentious, but I wanted to make it clear what this blog will feature. A bit of incite into my pet peeves are below.  I’m posting my first two blog entries I made at IGN after this post. Both blogs will be synched up on Tuesday with the same entries. I guess I want to see which one gets the most readers, if any. It may just be easier to use the IGN name for posting on their forums and use this as my blog. Who knows? I am getting off topic. Enjoy:

When I first created this blog, I decided it would be for fun. An entertaining new thing I started doing that I could share with my friends. It got old and I realized it was extremely immature and boring to any readers I could actually get. I have a talent. That talent is my ability to convey my thoughts across in a clear and concise manner. I can do this in lightning fast witty retorts, or I can do it in a much slower message board format. I pride myself in the ability to not only find people I perceive to be ignorant of certain topics, but my zero tolerance policy towards them. I’ve gotten a laugh out of pointing out their idiocy to others and belittling them for it. In some cases, I would go so far as to make a huge deal out of things that other would see as inconsequential. It got the best of me sometimes. I would go off on these people, not in an overly aggressive manner, nor by losing my temperament. I would just pull out the stops and it would turn from something innocent and educational to something asinine and barbaric.

I still have this low tolerance. It is for idiocy, bigotry, and all around ignorance. There is no excuse for a person in this new century to not be able to write properly, converse like a human being by proper word annunciation, or by using what they perceive to be socially accepted insults.

Now, I want to be clear. when I say write, I do not mean typos or grammar errors. I am talking about people who go out of their way to type things in Internet “slang” or “text-speak” and even “1337.” I also don’t expect everyone to speak without an accent. I do; however, prefer it if people don’t speak through “Ebonics.” People paid their taxes to put you through school, you should know how to converse in both written and aurally pleasing form.

As for my comment on insults. I don’t mind them in at all. In fact, half the fun of pointing out the shortcomings of people is insulting them. In my eyes if you are out of the 5th grade and can’t do the things I mentioned before, or talk about things you have no knowledge of as if you were an expect 0you’re subhuman. It may sound harsh, but it’s true. It’s only a logical conclusion. You are not at the level an adult human being is expected to be. You’re not a child, because even the youngest of children knows how to communicate at their own level. You’re on par with an animal. Grunting and barely able to be understood when writing.

I’m sorry, I went a bit off topic with the insult explanation. I meant to keep it short to move to the bulk of my meaning. When I was talking about insults, I am fine with the use of actual insults. But as far as I know, it is 2011. Calling someone a “faggot” or using a term that is racially rooted is just ridiculous. Neither one of these things are an insult any longer. At one time, sadly, they were. But in modern times? No. They are frowned upon. Making a reference to someone or something being gay as a way to convey that it is “uncool,” “stupid,” or otherwise “sub-par” is not only ridiculous, but it makes you look like an idiot. Sadly, it may be socially acceptable to teenagers, but they don’t know any better. They are ignorant to almost everyone of the world. And as adults it is out job to teach them that. We have cut down dramatically on racial slurs being used to convey the same statements I mentioned, we need to get to work on the sexual ones as well.

I guess what I am trying to say is that I may do these things to certain people, but that’s not what this blog is going to be about. I’m going to try to post something new at least every Tuesday and Saturday. If you become a reader, enjoy. If this initial post turned you off, I suggest giving the other two I uploaded after it a try. You may like what I have to say.

Leave a Reply

