Calendar

Posted: 21/08/2011 in Ramblings

I made a promise, so get out your phones, or your analog calendars and start marking them. You guys know that I am a horror fan at this point. Hell, the only entry I have made that has gotten any comments was my “Is Horror Dead?” entry. And more of you decided to follow me because of it.

I took the time out to make a list of horror films I watch on the holidays, or even special dates:

All of these are the original films unless stated otherwise.

January 1st: Terror Train
February 14th: Valentine’s Day Massacre
March 3rd: Evil Dead
March 14th : Leprechaun
April 1st: April Fool’s Day
Arbor Day: Troll 2
April 21st: The Fog
Earth Day: I recommend Eco-terror themed films. I watch The Birds.
Easter Sunday: Critters 2 or Night of the Lupus
Mother’s Day: Dead Alive/Brain Dead
Memorial Day: Uncle Sam
Father’s Day: The Stepfather
Prom/Year End Dance: Prom Night/The Loved Ones
July 4th: Jaws
Labor Day: Graveyard Shift
November 1st: Day of the Dead
Thanksgiving: Grindhouse/ Home Sweet Home
Christmas Eve: Black Christmas/Silent Night, Deadly Night/Elves
Christmas Day: Gremlins/Santa’s Slay/Nightmare Before Christmas

Friday The 13th: Any one of the Friday the 13th films. My favorite is Part 2.
Your Birthday: WHATEVER YOU WANT! Or, Happy Birthday To me.
Rainy Night: The Hitcher

For those of you who don’t get why The Fog has a special day:

Now, those are the horror films I like to watch on holidays. You may have noticed that I skipped Halloween. That is because the whole of October is a special month. Every year, I watch 5 horror films each weekend in October. I watch two on Friday and Saturday and one on Sunday night. Every year, the line-up is different and made of personal preference. When Halloween arrives, I like to watch films that focus on the fun side of horror. It brings me back to when I was a kid. I watch the first 3 every year. My Finacee, hating horror, likes a break from the rest of the month. I like to watch 5 throughout the day. This is my list for the month this year:

October 1st/2nd – Extraterrestrial:
The Blob (1988)
Killer Klowns From Outer Space
Night of the Creeps
The Thing (1982)
Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978)

October 7th/8th/9th – Vampire:
Cronos
The Lost Boys
Fright Night
Near Dark
Let The Right One In

October 14th/15th/16th – Demonic:
Demons
Night of the Demons
The Exorcist
The Amityville Horror
The Evil Dead 2

October 21st/22nd/23rd – Zombie:
Return of the Living Dead
Re-Animator
Chopper Chicks in Zombietown
Cemetery Man
Night of the Living Dead (1990)

October 28th/29th/30th – Werewolf:
American Werewolf in London
Wolfen
Ginger Snaps
The Howling V
Dog Soldiers

Halloween:
Halloween
Earnest Scared Stupid (DON’T JUDGE ME!)
The Monster Squad
Trick r Treat
Candyman

There you have it. There are some weekends during the year where I will randomly select a few slasher films and call it a “Slasher Weekend.” They will consist of a few films involving serial killers, or the big names in horror. And some of you may notice that I didn’t add my favorite horror film to the zombie weekend this October. The reason being is that I watch Dawn of the Dead at least twice a year. Everything is the same EVERY year, except for October. I get to change it up and have fun every year. That is what horror is all about. Having a good time and enjoying well made films. I’ll say it again for you guys, though. Good horror films do not need to be scary, nor filled with gore. It is all about the pacing and atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

