Getting to Know You

Posted: 14/08/2012 in Ramblings

I’m in the mood to share. As you can see on my Gravatar site, I’ve shared a few of my favorite things. The problem is that you can never think of the best stuff to share that really applies to you. So, I’ve decided to create a blog entry that will allow me to share things from my geekier side, as well as more random things. Now, this will be a bit like the old Myspace (I can’t believe I mentioned that site, ugh) posts where someone would share a giant list of questions that were answered. One, I’m bored and I wanted to do something a bit fun. Second, I actually enjoy these a bit.

It all started when I was going through Memebase and I came across this particular image. I had to post it on Facebook and decided to answer the questions presented. What better way to start, right?

The answers:
1. Earth (I could bend metal and sand as well).
2. Ravenclaw (They have the best house colors, mascot, traits).
3. Pegasus.
4. DC -Green Lantern/Nightwing, Marvel -The Thing/Spider-Man (Image -Invincible)
5. Ainur (Immortal world shaping gods).
6. Vampire (American Vampire style, or Anne Rice style).
7. Purple (Blue would be my choice if it were a darker shade).
8. Insanity Wolf/60s Spider-Man
9. Fighting (Primeape/Hariyama)
10. Ranger/Rogue (Rangers have a bit of magic, and Rogues can be assassins/thieves) I almost always chose either when playing RPG video games.

My Five Favorite Foods:

1. Grilled Steak (Blue) with a Baked Potato and Grilled Zucchini
2. Sukiyaki (Beef)
3. Traditional Irish Stew
4. Chicken Tikka Masala
5. Tako and Tuna Poke
They are in order from most to least favorite of the five. Now, I didn’t include pizza and such because most people enjoy those. To say they are your favorite is either a cop out, or you haven’t experienced enough of the culinary world. Go try new things! Oh, and “blue,” when in reference to steak means very rare. As in, cook it for about a minute on each side. Then, serve it to me.

Top Ten Favorite Video Games:

1. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
2. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (It took Oblivion’s place and knocked it off the list)
3. Pokemon Red
4. Spider-Man 2
5. Batman: Arkham City
6. Galaga
7. Ghosts’n Goblins
8. Super Mario World
9. Castlevania: Symphony of the Night
10. Fallout 3

Honorable Mentions:  
The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Sonic the Hedgehog, Earthworm Jim, Battletoads, GoldenEye 007, Portal 1&2 and Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (The only one of the trilogy that ISN’T broken and unplayable).

Top 15 comics:
1. Sandman
2. Y: The Last Man
3. Lucifer
4. Preacher
5. Transmetropolitan
6. Identity Crisis
7. Fables
8. Invincible
9. Fear Agent
10. 100 Bullets
11. Hellblazer
12. Starman
13. Strange Girl
14. The Goon
15. Nextwave

Honorable Mentions: The Outsiders (vol. 3), The Walking Dead, Hellboy, Exterminators, Criminal, Watchmen, We3, Scott Pilgrim, and The Boys.

Top 11 TV Shows (on the air):
1. Doctor Who
2. Sons of Anarchy
3. Mad Men
4. The Venture Brothers
5. Game of Thrones
6. Archer
7. True Blood
8. Boardwalk Empire
9. Breaking Bad
10. The Newsroom
11. Top Gear

Favorite Season: Autumn
Favorite Sport/Physical Activity: Soccer/Hiking/Cycling/Camping
Favorite Hobby/Pastime: Watching horror films and woodworking.
Favorite Place to Live: I’ve lived in the American Northeast for the past 15 years. I would love to spend a year or two living in the UK, or even Germany.
Favorite Holiday: Halloween
Favorite Pet: Dog. I’ve owned Dobies, Boxers and Rotties. I would love to own an Alaskan Malamute or a Puggle/Corgi.
Favorite Snack: Roasted pumpkin seeds (salted) and ice wold apple cider.
Favorite Sushi: Dragon Roll
Favorite Band: The Airborne Toxic Event
Star Wars or Star Trek:  Neither. I’m a Whovian.
Favorite Restaurant: Any place that serves pub food OR sushi.
Favorite Type of Music: Everything except gospel, electronic, country, Pop, and dance.
Favorite Genre of Film: Horror before the modern era (pre-1995).
Favorite Day of the Week: Thursday. It’s origin is Thor’s Day.
Favorite Pizza Topping: I usually just order it with extra sauce and ask for it to be cooked longer so it’s crispier, but when I’m in the mood for a topping? Buffalo chicken.
Favorite Subject from School: History, I’m still interested enough to be pursuing a degree in it intending to teach.
Favorite Thing to Wear: There are two outfits you’re likely to see me in. Around the house, I’ll be wearing jeans, T-shirt, zip-up hoodie, visor beanie(when needed), and boots. When I go out, you’ll see me in jeans, dress shirt, boots/dress shoes, and a coat(if needed).
Nerd or Geek: Geek.
Favorite Alcoholic Mixed Drink: Vodka Cranberry
Favorite Beer: Blue Moon
Favorite Painting: Starry Night
Most Prized Possession: Autographed copy of American Gods by Neil Gaiman, my Sandman poster(OOP), DVD collection and any of my other autographed 8x10s/DVDs.
Favorite Room in my House: My office.
Dream Job when I was a Kid: I went through a phase where I wanted to be a cardiologist. I spent months copying notes from medical books and such. I also wanted to be a graphic designer and a writer.
Something I’d like to learn is: Another language (German), and how to play the piano.
Favorite Superhero: DC – Green Lantern/Nightwing, Marvel -The Thing/Spider-Man
Favorite Villains: DC – The Joker/Black Adam, Marvel – Dr. Doom/Taskmaster
Favorite Horror Film: Dawn of the Dead ’78
Favorite Book: American Gods by Neil Gaiman
Favorite Color: Midnight Blue, Black, Silver
Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: Butter Pecan
Favorite drink: Milk/Water/Cranapple Juice/Unsweetened Iced Tea

Dislikes:

  • Willful Ignorance
  • PETA
  • Stupidity
  • Withholding of Equal Rights
  • Indoctrination
  • Politicians (Generalization)
  • Self-righteous Vegans/Vegetarians (It’s your choice, not anyone else’s)
  • Organized Religion (individuals who practice are fine, as long as they don’t try to push their beliefs on anyone else)
  • And people who don’t know the difference between liking a film, and it being good.

Well, there you have it. There’s some trivial information that helps you to get to know me a bit better. If this were 1998, I’d give you my AIM SN and tell you to just IM me in order to find out more; however, something tells me that you don’t really care either way. All I can say is that I provided the information and maybe you skipped this entry, or maybe you found out that we share similar tastes. Either way, I’ve opened up a bit. This is one of those blogs that is directed towards the non-existent readers. I’ll go back to vague, impersonal yet  “interesting” entries now. I can’t promise that you won’t get another one of these in the future.

Leave a Reply

