Call from London

Posted: 10/09/2012 in Ramblings

I’ve been listening to a ton of music that is attached in some way to my youth, or the youth of the past few generations, and I have to make a blog post regarding this one band. They are heavily influential and considered one of the best of all time. Personally, I only really love the one album, which happens to be the best selling and most critically acclaimed one.  I’m not a huge Punk fan, but this particular band managed to make an 19 tracked album where I fell in love with each and every one. Sure, there are other bands that I can name that have done that, but this was the first. Up until the point that this band entered my life, I had only known singles by bands. Granted, they were classic rock songs from my father (Zeppelin, The Who, Beatles, Pink Floyd, etc) and classic pop from my mother (Bee Gees, Rod Stewart, Heart, Fleetwood Mac). It wouldn’t be until after this band introduced the concept of an album to me that I would find the best of the artists I’ve mentioned and more. Hell, after I discovered London Calling, I paid more attention to these artists albums, which allowed me to move onto the singles of other fantastic artists that my parents would seldom, if ever, listen to. Such as Elvis, various Motown artists, and the rest of the giant artists (and singles) from the 50s and early 60s. 

When I listen to these two songs, they remind me of being 17 smoking cigarettes/drinking while getting up to extremely stupid things. It still gets me pumped for some reason. The whole album takes me right back to it. I think this album is just pure, distilled teenaged angst. It has so many different flavors going for it that speak to someone at their most rebellious. It certainly gave me a perceived “edge” growing up. I first got a copy of this album when I was 12 from the local library. It never went back and neither have I. I guess this lead to my eclectic taste via its unusual mixing of genres. It most definitely led to my quick love affair with “punk” that blossomed into my love of all things metal. Which, int turn, became a love for ALL the music of my youth as well as alternative. When I think about it, this album and these two songs I’m posting made it possible for me to have a playlist that has The Clash, Al Green, Airborne Toxic Event, ELO, Beastie Boys, Ragnarok, The Cult, Elvis Costello, Freda Payne, Bruce Springsteen, MC Frontalot, Anthrax, Cat Stevens, Pantera, Jack Off Jill, The Troggs and The Beatles all on one playlist. Regardless of how you feel about Ska, Punk, Alternative, or less polished music as a whole, there is only one word you need to describe this album -Classic.

And the second one? Why, that would be this classic. Is it the most Punk song around? Hell no. It is extremely Ska-like, though. And I am not the biggest Ska fan, so liking this song is a bit strange. Honorable mentions? Rudie Can’t Fail, and Train in Vain. The whole album is amazing, but some of the songs transcend the album and become something more. Don’t trust anyone who has never listened to, and at least enjoyed one song from London Calling.

Leave a Reply

