Halloweenie

Posted: 31/10/2012 in Ramblings

This isn’t much of a Halloween post, and I know it has been a little while since my last update. I’ve been busy with school and lazy. Anyone who reads this knows how I’m doing through Facebook, so I will cut the witty banter short and get to the post.

Tonight, Alyssa and I have been watching movies and handing out candy. Despite the worry about Sandy hitting us in Western Massachusetts we were skipped over. So, unlike last year, we actually have a Halloween to celebrate. Which makes both of us happy. It is our favorite holiday after all. So far, I have been watching 31 horror films for October (one a night), and Alyssa has been uncharacteristically calm throughout this past weekend. We finally watched Dawn of the Dead ’78 (my favorite) in the “new” house. It was her first time, and she dug it. I made a huge English Roast with Yorkshire pudding and we ate like royalty. Tonight, she made me watch Nightmare Before Christmas, which is her Halloween tradition. Mine, is watching horror flicks that take place on Halloween. I usually watch Halloween 1, 2 and 3, Trick ‘r Treat/Trick or Treat and Night of the Demons, but tonight it is just Trick r Treat ’07.

In between the films, Alyssa and I were discussing Disney’s recent acquisition of Lucasfilm and what that means for George and his family. Sure, we can all discuss how good/bad the new trilogy will turn out, but I was just talking about the super-rich and what they do with the money when they die. I told her that if I was Bill Gates, or someone similar, and let’s say when I died I hate 10 Billion Dollars in my estate, I would donate 8 Billion to charity, and do something awesome with the rest. I would keep $2b in a trust for my family. There is a catch, though. Every future offspring of mine (and their children and so on) would get a gift on their 30th birthday. They would get a one-time payment of $1 million. This would be enough to cover roughly 2,000 of my descendants. The annual interest from that trust? Well that would go to charity every year. This would go on until the money ran out.

The reason I would give that amount and on their 30th birthday is simple. Any younger and they would more than likely blow it and regret it. Now, when they do get it, I don’t care what is done with it. I would hope instead of playing a million dollar hand of black jack, they would use it to invest in their future, pay off student debts, or use the money to help them in a trying time, but it is their choice. Why would I do this? Simply to make sure that, no matter what, my children and their children were taken care of and didn’t have to live like previous generations did. They could live comfortably, but without growing up like spoiled brats. Sure, they would know they were getting the money, but they would be forced to get a degree and do some living beforehand. Not just get a check and live off of it for the rest of their lives (unless the invested).

I don’t know. I just thought that would be a good idea if I were one of the super rich. I’m not, and I never will be, but I can dream a bit and think of how cool that would be. Sure, I want to be successful, but no one ever became a billionaire being a history teacher. I’m happy with the direction my life is plotted for and I am with a wonderful woman. That is all I really need. Sure, it would be nice to have the money, but that would only but me distractions and petty things. I’d much rather earn a new car/house, and I wouldn’t need a private jet, weekends in Vienna, or an island. That doesn’t mean I wouldn’t accept a sum of money if offered. I’m just letting my mind wander.

Wow, this Halloween post was hijacked by a stray thought. Anyway, I’m going to go back to my film. If you want to see a full list of what I watched these past few days, send me a message and I’ll post it. If not, then just go to the Facebook page that me and a few BD members put up for it. Oh wait, it’s private. Whatever, I know no one really cares. If you want an idea, just read my old post about horror calendars and such.

And with that, I bid you a good night. See ya next week, and Happy Halloween.

Leave a Reply

