New Year’s Post

Posted: 01/01/2013 in Ramblings

I’m starting to hate people that write long-winded blog posts about how they’re sorry they haven’t posted in a while and give a long list of reasons why they should be forgiven. Especially those, like myself, that pretend to have readers. People other than themselves that actually care what they think. I’ve seen it too many times and I think I’ve even done it. I’m going to get right down to the fat and confess my idea for a brilliant 2013. I think I need to do two things at the start of this new year. One, is to watch a movie every day and write two reviews a week. Said reviews can be about any of the films I see and they can be as long as I wish AFTER they reach the 500 word mark. Another thing I feel like doing is being proactive about my back injury and try to walk as much as I can over the next year. It is something that kills me to do, but sitting around waiting to feel better isn’t living and I need to do something other than brood. I’ll try to do a mile a day, but I doubt I’ll be able to get even close to that, all things considered. I’ve also decided to treat certain days as check-in points and post what I am doing, listening to, reading, thinking and watching. There will be no set schedule. I suppose I’ve going to treat this a bit like a journal and less like I’m talking to an audience. That will make it easier to write without all of the ego involved. It isn’t about my musings, it is just to let me get some of the things out of my head.

Right now, for instance, I am reading Butcher Bird by Richard Kadrey. One of my favorite authors. He is 4 books deep into a fantastic urban fantasy series set around the character of Sandman Slim (it is the title of the first book, and yet, even the main character hates the ridiculous name). I recommend it whole-heartedly. I am listening to Band of Skulls, which is a nice little alternative band from the UK. And I have been watching a ton of movies lately. Nothing in the horror genre, really. Well, House of the Devil (great retro-flick) and Class of Nuke ‘Em High (Troma’s heyday) are TECHNICALLY horror. And the snow falling outside is making me feel both nostalgic and depressed.

Of course, this will be posted tomorrow, so most of the things said won’t really matter, but I’ll add something to this before posting it.

And here I am. Happy New Year, everyone. The snow left around 2.5 inches, and ice EVERYWHERE. It was nice, though. I wound up watching 30 Days of Night around 3am while the snow was falling. It wasn’t as bad as I remembered it. The only problem I had with it was Josh Hartnett. Which is usually the case with anything he is in. With the exception of The Faculty and Black Dahlia (both were enjoyable for what they were….my taste with him is questionable). Anyway, happy New Year to anyone who is reading this. And to the people not reading it? Well….the internet is a big place. I can see how you got lost on your way here. It’s distracting. I’m lonely.

Alyssa?

Leave a Reply

